Homesick

I have been gone from Haiti for exactly twelve days, fifteen hours, and fifty-one minutes. (But who’s counting?) Already, I am seeing everything differently and all I want to do is get back to the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere.

Every day I look around and see the many things we take for granted. We have running water, computers, carpeted floors, and air conditioning. Haitians have a stream and a bucket, dirt floors, and endure the heat daily. We are so, so blessed here where we live.

DSC_0602

Since the minute I touched down at the Fort Lauderdale airport, I wanted to turn around and fly right back to Haiti. You see, I do love showering outdoors. I love the half-mile walk to the school in the morning. I love twenty little hands feeling my smooth head of hair. I love the white sand in Haiti that covers my legs. And I love the Haitians.

DSC_0548

I know I can’t always be in Haiti, but I know I always can do something Out of the Ordinary. So can you, my readers. Make paper snowflakes and go out to the nursing home to deliver them. Buy thirty cans of chicken noodle soup and donate them to the food pantry. Because “The king will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’ ” Matthew 25:40 – NIV

DSC_0545

FRIENDS

48 thoughts on “Homesick

  1. I am so glad this writing came across my tablet. Thank you, Lydia. You have blessed me today. I will be a blessing also. I forsee an exciting future ahead for you. Keep your eyes fixed above!

  2. You are so right Lydia, and that is why I will keep sewing dresses and pillowcases for you to take with you the next time you go. And also keep making bars for St. Francis House, there are many things locally here at home we can and MUST do.

  3. You are a joy, Lydia Lee. Your love for the people of Haiti is so precious. May you continue to grow in your knowledge of God’s love for you and in your love for God and His people – as you follow Jesus where ever He takes you.

  4. Lydia, thank you for blessing me with your writing! I love the way you love God’s people! You, young friend, inspire me to do more and be more for others!!!!! Thank you.

  5. I felt the same way you do when I left my Rwandan friends. I started a fund raising effort called Homes of Hope to educate my friends about 80 orphans who raise each other. We built houses for them, gave them food and coal so they can cook. And I love the way you encourage others to think about what they can do to help. You are making an impact here and in Haiti, just by sharing your heart. You are a lovely writer, just like your mother.

    • Thank you! It feels great to know I’m not the only one feeling “homesick.” Homes of Hope seems very interesting and sweet. It is amazing! You are an inspiration and a caring person! Great job!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. Thank you so much Lydia for writing about your trip and your homesickness. Your mom’s friends were praying for your family and all those your lives touched while your were. Thanks for working so hard for the playground and inspiring us all to be the hands and feet of Jesus. I love Haiti. I would go back today if I could ๐Ÿ™‚ I will keep praying for you. I know how hard it is.

      • Yes, and so has my husband and my son. My son has been twice in this past year and he is only 17. He wants to go back this summer!!! I think he is homesick too.
        I left my heart in Haiti and I would love to slip you in my little bag and your Momma in my big bag. I don’t need stuff in Haiti so that would work out perfectly!

  7. How beautifully said Lydia. When I asked you what was the highlight yesterday, I now understand. It was ALL such a highlight in your life. You are soo young and yet soo full of love and are so mission minded. Could you be on our Mission Board at church with us?? And yes we did feel so blessed as we served at St Francis tonight.

    • Sandy–
      Thank you so very much! I love how you serve at St. Francis! It is so kind. I wish I could go there and help SOO bad, but I have piano lessons at that time. About the mission board thing… are you serious?? I would like to be on it but aren’t I too young? Maybe sometime I could help serve or something?

  8. Thank you Lydia, you have such a beautiful heart for Jesus. I will be leaving for Haiti in two weeks and I love the Haitians too! Keep up your wonderful spirit and keep on being an encourager for all of us to do more for others.

    • WOW! Carol, that is so amazing! I know the kids will love and really appreciate their valentines! I know God will be smiling ๐Ÿ™‚ down on you as you deliver those valentines!!
      -Lydia

    • Jennifer,
      I know God has a certain and special path for both you and me. Thank you for the comment! I read over it a few times. It really means something special to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Sweet Lydia…I love your heart and I pray you continue to stay connected to His heart and let Him lead you…being faithful in the small things…even a cup of cold water…”And if anyone gives even a cup of cold water to one of these little ones because he is my disciple, I tell you the truth, he will certainly not lose his reward.” Matthew 10:42 blessings to you~

    • What a beautiful Bible verse! I had never heard that one before. I actually connected to it because last year, my mom and I went to Omaha with a nearby church to do short-term mission work. One of the things we did was give out cups of water to everybody coming into the park there. ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. I was thinking the same thing while I was reading your post Lydia. We don’t have to go far from home to help others in Jesus’ name. You have some great ideas. I understand how much you miss Haiti.

  11. Hi Lydia,
    I’m a reader of your sweet mama’s blog and an internet friend – I wanted to tell you that I’ve been following your blog along with my two younger kids – Gabrielle, 9, and Atrus, 6. Gabrielle is particularly interested in your experiences as she has developed a passion for helping kids with malaria. She finds your love for Haiti inspiring. God is new to this family of mine and I am so happy my kids can see God’s work in the world through a child they can relate to and imagine being friends with. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for loving God the way you do and we look forward to your next blog entry!
    And I love what these fellow commenters have told you – My husband, eldest daughter, and I went to Honduras to visit our sponsor child last May and my heart is still aching to go back. I know when your heart beats for another country, people in need far away. I am sorry your heart hurts but know that God will use that, too.
    have a blessed day, sweet Lydia!

    • Lisa,
      Your girls are so sweet! Tell Gabrielle that God can use her to do BIG things for kids with malaria. I love her heart for others! I know what it feels like, you wanting to get back to Honduras. You might not always be able to be there, but you can always live Out of the Ordinary!!

  12. I know how you are feeling! I went to Haiti 3 years ago to meet my little sisters for the first time, my parents were in the process of adopting. I fell in love with the country and the people. Once you go there is a pull that makes you want to go back. I have not been back yet, but I plan on going to Haiti soon. My goal is to get my masters in Education and go to teach in a high school. God works in amazing ways! You are truly a wonderful person keep up the great work. God bless!

    • Thank you so much! I feel better knowing that I am not alone with missing Haiti. It is almost hard to describe, but that “pull” you said describes it. I want to go to college for education, too! I want to teach at a school in Haiti. I hope you can get back to Haiti soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You will get there! We need more young girls like you in the world. Check out my blog, I have a few written about Haiti. That pull never goes away! I hope that you get to go back too.

  13. Lydia! What a beautiful post. I leave for Haiti in 2 weeks for my third time’ with my whole family! Haiti is so amazing, and I’m so glad you got to enjoy Haiti ๐Ÿ™‚ hugs sweet girl! You are beautiful inside and out and have a heart for Jesus! I remember a few years ago, when I was your age I loved mission work, went on my first trip to Haiti, wrote blogs, and had such a love for Christ too! Keep that love for Him strong! Always here to talk, and I would love to do mission work with you ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Lydia! A few years ago, I was your age and got to go on my first trip to Haiti with my family to! I love mission work and doing things for others! I one day would like to have my own mission or be a youth pastor ๐Ÿ™‚ now, I’m 17 and I am going for my 3rd trip to Haiti with my whole family and boyfriend in 2 weeks, & Jesus is my best friend! I pray that you wil keep your love for Christ and keep rocking! You are an amazing beautiful girl, and I would love to do mission work with you sometime ๐Ÿ™‚ if you ever need anyone to talk to, I’m always here. I know when I fell in love with Haiti and wanted to help others all the time, I was always looking for someone to talk to because I was just so excited ๐Ÿ™‚ so just let me know if you ever want to talk ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wow, Heather! I know how you felt when you fell in love with Haiti. I was so in love with Haiti, I was very sad when I had to leave. But, as I said in my post, you can do things at home too! I would love to talk to you about Haiti sometime, and I really want to be a missionary in Haiti someday. It is amazing–how much you love Haiti and care for others! Bon Shivi! (Do you know Creole? I think that’s how you spell good job! )
      You rock!
      –Lydia
      P.S. Since you are going to Haiti soon, maybe I could fit into your carry-on… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. Hello,
    My name is Abby.

    I am 9 yrs old & live in Haiti. We have been there the last 2 years. We r from Brandon & come back in the summer to visit family. My dad used to take the pictures of the Mission Haiti kids…we are Bibles for Haiti now….& live near Les Cayes…used to live Ti Rivyรจ. I would like to hear from you. We r in Brandon now because my great-grandpa passed away. My dads blog is imakeadreaminhaiti.blogspot.com…….hope to hear from you soon!

    • Hey Abby!
      Wow! You live in Haiti? That is so exciting! I bet you love it there. I think we have a lot in common, Abby. My great grandma just passed away also. You said you work with Mission Haiti and lived in Ti Rivye. My dad went to Haiti a couple years ago, worked with Mission Haiti, and visited Ti Rivye! How did your family get into living in Haiti… what is the story for that? Also, could you tell me more about Bibles for Haiti? I are very near Brandon. Is there a possible way I could meet you, Abby? I’ll be sure to check out your dad’s blog. Hope to hear from you!
      –Lydia ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Lydia, this is such a beautiful post. I love your generous heart and how God is working through you to bring happiness and hope to the least of these. Funny: I literally just read those words from Matthew in my daily quiet time. How is God speaking to *me* through them and through you? Yes, we may not be able to travel to Haiti, but there are “little ones” who need us right here. I love your idea about the nursing home. My dauther and I used to sing to the residents there when she was little. I think we should again. Thank you for all you are doing with your young (yet wise) life to make a difference for Jesus!
    Love
    Lynn
    Still can’t figure out how to subscribe to your posts. ugh.

    • Thank you Lynn! The verse from Matthew… I had never even heard it before… Maybe I have… I just thought of “the least of these” and soon I found the verse. It is one of my favorites! I will ask my mom how to subscribe to my blog. I will try to get back to you about it!! ๐Ÿ™‚
      –Lydia

      • Yes, Lydia, it’s a wonderful, beautiful verse, because you realize that every time you are ministering to the least of these, you are actually ministering to Jesus! Wow!

        Turning a very abrupt corner, I “gotta” tell you! I LOVE the pic of you and the goat! You are both sooooooo cute! =]
        Love
        Lynn

Leave a Reply

