Never Too Old or Young

I sit at the back of my church, near the stained-glass window. I glance around and see 90-year-old Hazel donning her knit cap. I stroll over to my mom at the computer, where she controls the Power Point, and I ask her if she could take a picture of me with Hazel. She replies with a, “Yes,” and I walk over to Hazel and have a seat beside her, asking if I could have a picture with her. Mom clicks her iPhone camera with a snap.

photo (71)

Hazel Haugland is a woman who, at age 90, lives Out of the Ordinary. Hazel attends my church, Our Savior’s Lutheran Church, almost every Sunday. (She only misses on the icy days.) She is a kind, loving lady who is an inspiration and a leader.Β When she sings a hymn, she is truly glorifying God. When she is loving on all of the children at the church, she is glorifying God. In all she does, Hazel glorifies God.

Hazel never had any kids and was never married, but she loves children and treats me as an equal. She helps take care of her younger brother, Helmer, who is in his 80’s. And Helmer helps take care of her. Their love for each other is great. Hazel used to take care of their brother Selmer, before he passed away.

And Hazel is a role model to everyone because she is a reminder that anybody, even a 90-year-old, can live a not-so-average-life. It does not matter how old or young you are. God will use you if you are open and willing to do so.

You may retire from your job, but you don’t retire from being God’s hands and feet.

Β 

41 thoughts on “Never Too Old or Young

  1. “She only misses on the icy days.” I read this last night when it popped up in my email, and it made me smile BIG! When I read your line about Hazel missing church on the icy days, I thought about my own mother who is faithful to her church in many of the same ways. It grieves me that, as the dear saints begin to age, things like health and weather often keep them from connecting with the churches they love so deeply. Thanks be to God for those who love the Lord and his church and continue to serve for as long as He gives them strength!

  2. Lydia, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate this post. I love the elderly, and sadly, I don’t think many young people treat them like the treasure they are. It is refreshing to meet someone like you, young in years, but old in wisdom, who respects her seniors. A number of my friends are octagenarians and nonagenarians and, in fact, my friend, in her late eighties, said her mother died Sunday, at one-hundred-nine and was still witnessing for the Lord! So, you are right: Retirement is not an option when you serve Jesus. Funny that you should mention the name Hazel. I had a great aunt named Hazel, whom I greatly loved. In fact, I had nine great aunts and uncles, and I could bearly keep up with them. They had so much energy and were so much fun. How I miss them….but how glad I am that I made time for them. They taught me so much about the Lord and about life. I try to spend time with the elderly at church and reach out to them with cards of encouragement. I can tell that you are doing much to be a bright ray of joy in their lives. And I hope they will read your blog! I’m glad that Hazel posed with you…..and now your mother is, too! Ha! I read her last post. Sending youy much love,
    Lynn

  3. Oh, I love that last line! So wise of you, Lydia, to notice how Hazel is glorifying God during this season of her life. — I love how you are doing the same, young one. Keep writing!!!

    • Thank you!! πŸ˜€ Writing is important because it reminds us of what God does. I have heard that you do some writing, too! I’ll be sure to check it out!!

  4. Lydia, this is such a gift to me! Absolutely love having you share your stories and link up with us. I’m sure your mom has already told you about “eshet chayil” but it’s a Hebrew phrase that means “woman of valour” – and I don’t know if there is a “girl of valour” or not but I’m thinking there should be for girls like you! And love your heart for Haiti, too. Girl, you blessed my socks off today. xoxo

    • Sarah,
      Thank you so much for letting me link up to your blog!! I love “eshet chayil.”
      πŸ˜€ I’ll ask my pastor if he knows what it means.. πŸ™‚ Will you go back to Haiti soon? I want to get back there so so so so so so badly!! Again, thank you!!

  5. Love this post – keep writing! One day, many many years from now, I hope I can say I lived my life to the fullest like Hazel has. Thank you for the encouragement, and for joining up with the Synchroblog!

  6. you, my dear, are proof that it is possible to live out paul’s instructions to timothy [don’t let anyone look down on you because you are young but set an example for the believers in speech, in conduct, love, in faith and in purity — I timothy 4:12]. your example to other women, including me, is uplifting & spurs us on to honor the women in our life, no matter what their age!

  7. Pingback: In which I link you up (vol 14) + international women’s day favourites | Sarah Bessey

Leave a Reply

