Cooked Carrots

During my trip to Haiti, not only was I doing mission work on the Haitians, but they were doing some mission work on me. They taught me what it is like to live life simply, with more time with God, glorifying the life they have. They showed me how amazing it is, not obsessing over the new iPhone 5 or an Xbox 360. They live their lives, sometimes not knowing when they will eat again, but trusting that God will provide.

DSC_0913

It is simply not fair.

Why do I get such a life where I have a cozy, queen-size bed to cuddle into at night? Why am I the one who has a pantry loaded with enough food to feed the whole village of Simonette? Why am I turning up my nose at cooked carrots and bologna, where such food could save a Haitian’s life?

I loved it down in Haiti, without my iPad or TV to distract me from God. Sometimes we get lost in all of these material possessions that don’t last. We need to remember that God is forever.

So look around yourself right now. How many electronics do you see? What things do you see that the less fortunate wouldn’t have? What belongings are distracting you from God? What are you taking for granted?

DSC_0550

These verses from Matthew 19 are too true:

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

11 thoughts on “Cooked Carrots

  1. I must say that your Cooked Carrots title got my attention. I eat them almost everyday, and have trouble getting my husband to eat them. But I did not expect you to talk about people who would love to eat them, but don’t have any. This post has really made me think about what is important and what is important to share. Thank you, Lydia, for allowing the wordly things of this earth to “grow strangely dim” as you “turn your eyes upon Jesus” and “look full in His wonderful face” and those of His precious children. May I wish you a very blessed Holy Week and joyous Easter “in the light of His glory and grace”!
    Love
    lynn

    • Hello Lynn!!
      I know, it is kind of a funny title. My mom said to choose an object from the story and make it the title. So, Cooked Carrots it is!! 😀 But really, thank you so much, Lynn. 🙂

  2. Your mother is a wise woman! I know you know that! 🙂 I think titles can be so intriguing and should pique our curiosty and, of course, be recognizable within the story. You “done good” kid! 🙂 Seriously, it made me want to read more, and I’m glad that I did!
    Fondly
    Lynn

  3. God bless u Lydia! This is truly insipiring n the text a gentle reminder of our focus and purpose here on earth, exactly what we need for this season. Have a blessed Easter x

  4. Sweet Lydia, I totally agree with your wise words. It is in the quiet that we hear Him most clearly….

    One of my favorite memories from my trip to Haiti was that we slept in a house with a tin roof, and one night it rained. The sound of the rain on the roof was so beautiful. I miss that sound…

    Happy Easter to you! 🙂

  5. Haitians have that effect on people 🙂 I remember coming home and crying because I wanted to buy a new dress for my wedding shower but just couldn’t justify spending another $80 when I had a dozen cute dresses in my closet. It was a good cry!

  6. What a great post and something for all of us to think about. I just found your blog here and cannot believe you are only 11! Wow. You write so well and your heart is so beautiful. I look forward to reading more of what you have to say and look forward to learning more from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

