Wonder-Working Power!!!

I woke up to the sound of thunder and lightning flashing outside my bedroom window. Groggily stepping out of bed, I made my way upstairs to check out what was going on. The rain poured down in a sticky, sleety mess. By the looks of it, the rain had been coming down since daybreak, and it showed no sign of stopping soon.

DSC_0760

Since it was a Tuesday, I had to get to school, though I was very surprised school had not been called off due to the rain. (It would freeze in this temperature and make the roads icy and unsafe.) At 10:00, our class was in art. A teacher came to the room and told us that we would be getting out early. All of the boys in the room completely freaked out, dancing around and hollering. (But I guess that is what you have to expect having 5 girls and 15 boys in your class…[Can you sense my eye-roll through the screen?])

Later that day, at home,-it was still pouring out- I was standing in the living room. And the lights- they just flickered and went out.

“Great. No power,” I muttered as I tested to see if the lights really were out- they were. My family gathered some flashlights for that night. Since we had a generator, we could turn the lights on in my parent’s room and work the fireplace. As for the rest of the house, we had to get around with candles or flashlights. We emptied out the fridge because the food would rot otherwise.

It was tough without the electricity, but we had lots of laughs playing board games. (You should see my dad imitate a horse jockey while playing Guesstures! πŸ™‚ )

That night, we fell asleep in my parents’ room, hoping the power would come on by the morning.

It did not. The rain was still coming strong, with everything outside completely covered in ice. (Like, seriously, even the grass was frozen over.)Β Even the strongest trees wilted down, overcome by the frozen precipitation.

DSC_0745

I had no idea how much I took electricity for granted until then. But at least I have a generator… What about the Haitians? They never have electricity, on stormy nights, they don’t have a large house to protect them from the winds. At least I still had running water, but the Haitians? Never.

The power came back on yesterday, and I am SOO thankful for it. But also, I ask that you please continue to pray for others who the storm might have hit.

I love these verses my mom, Jennifer Lee, put on her blog:

You see, at just the right time, when we were still powerless, Christ died for the ungodly.Β -Romans 5:6

11 thoughts on “Wonder-Working Power!!!

  1. Love this, Lydia. The pictures are stunning! We lose power at our house from time to time, too, usually from fierce winds that whip down the canyon we live in. But THREE WHOLE DAYS?? Never had to deal with that. Amazing how very spoiled we get, isn’t it? (can you see the eye roll through the screen?)

  2. Lydia, this is another powerful post. I was eager to read it, knowing you are the daughter of another powerful author–Jennifer Lee. I wanted to see your take on that same storm. It’s wonderful that it fostered a special camaraderie–a coziness in the dark for you and your family. I recall when this happened to us once (pre-generator days), and my daughter Sheridan decided we’d camp out in our bedroom. She made paper doilies, and we watched their shapes dance on our ceilings as she put them over flashlights, pointing upwards. We had such a delightful time, despite the cold and inconvenience. Another time, when we had power, but my parents didn’t in their frigid house, we picked them up so they could stay with us. It was one of the coziest times we had ever spent here with them in the intimacy of our home. It would be the last time that my father ever came here, and I will never forget it. He died five months later after a long, painful hospital odyssey after he had broken his neck. Whenever we experience an ice-storm blackout (or I hear of someone else’s), I can’t help but think of Daddy with fondness and sadness, all mixed up together. And how precious, that in the midst of your storm, you should think of those less fortunate than you. Thank you for reminding us of the one true Power in every storm!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Wow, Lynn. You’ve really just touched me. In your story, you said you picked up your parents. Well, the day after the storm, we went to my grandma’s house because, SHE– for some reason I do not know– had power. I guess it is just that same story!! Thank you so very much, Lynn!! πŸ˜€

      • Oh Lydia…….always spend as much time as you can possibly spend with your grandparents. You will never regret a day that you do! πŸ™‚

  3. Beautiful post, Lydia. I was anxious to see it. I hope you will always have good memories of the beautiful things you shared with family during the great April storm of 2013. I know I will cherish my own memories of having you all here. Thanks for reminding us who the Light really is. Love you. Grandma

    • And thank YOU, Grandma, for letting us stay at your house for a while during the power outage and for the beautiful comment. I will always remember that power outage, and the things we did during it.
      ❀ Lydia

  4. We had a chance to share some family time also Lydia. Our kids, grandkids and great grands were here and the love was flowing, just like at your Grammas house. Never ever get enough of those hugs and giggles. I had to put piggies and ribbons in Ellas hair today before I sent her on her way home. Making memories, and sharing our love, is what life is for. Great post. You are such a gifted writer. Keep it up sweetness. God Bless.

  5. Wow! Those pictures are stunning! And, yes, I could very much sense your eye roll from across the screen.

    We’ve been without power here in CT for up to a week, once following a hurricane and another time after a freakishly early October snowstorm. The trees still had their leaves and, when heavy with snow, many broke and took down power lines with them.

    The first twenty-four hours without power felt like an adventure and, after the second day, I remember feeling like, “Yeah. We’re tough. We can handle this.” After three days, though, I found my patience really starting to wear thin. Everything just seems so much harder without power.

    And, like you wrote, so many deal with this kind of frustration day-in and day-out and have to make peace with it. Some even manage to maintain a spirit of joy in the midst of such hardship. And that is so very humbling to me, reminding me of how much I take for granted.

    And . . . I love, love, LOVE that line from the hymn!

Leave a Reply

