Going Through the Motions

What an amazing past few weeks I’ve been having! I’ve had so much going on, I haven’t posted in a while!

To start off, I started 6th grade on August 21st. Already, it has brought lots of homework, reading, and tests!

IMG_3321

Above: First day beauties!

Also, on Labor day weekend, I spoke at LifeLight, which is a Christian music festival held in the city of Sioux Falls, SD. I spoke, with my sister, Anna, Kendra Michael, and two other kids, at the mission tent, I talked about my trip to Haiti and how God is using me. It was very exciting, and I am proud to be a part of it!!

On August 13, I had 3 teeth extracted. I had to be put out because two of the teeth were fused to the bone. I was supposed to get 5 teeth out, but the surgery ran long because my teeth were really hard to get out, and they couldn’t give me any more medication!

So yesterday, I had my other 2 teeth extracted. I’m in a lot of pain, so some prayers would be excellent! But here’s the funny thing: my doctor has taken out thousands of teeth, but mine is the hardest he’s ever done! (What can I say- I’m a special one!)

But other than that, I’ve just been doing pretty simple things: doing my homework, practicing piano, feeding the cats, studying for tests. Sounds normal, right? Pretty good.

NOT!!

I thought my blog was supposed to be about living Out of the Ordinary! Not living ordinary! I’ve gotta keep living it up, wherever I am! Find ways to love others in my daily life!

I could sit with the new girl at lunch.

I could stand up for others

I could go above and beyond my expectations

As Matthew West sings:

I don’t wanna go through the motions
I don’t wanna go one more day
without Your all consuming passion inside of me
I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking,
“What if I had given everything,
instead of going through the motions?”

I don’t, either.

So let’s make it our goal to STOP going through the motions, living every ordinary moment for an extraordinary God.

25 thoughts on “Going Through the Motions

  1. Wow, Miss Lydia! Your passion and commitment so inspire me! If you are like this at eleven, what will twelve, and twenty, and every other year bring?! I can’t believe you are writing blogs, having just endured oral surgery and now a painful recovery. I’m assuming perhaps that these are wisdom teeth? In your case, extracting them will not diminish your wisdom, which is granted from above! Our daughter Sheridan had this done a couple of years ago (when she was around nineteen, and it was no picnic, I can tell you.) I agonized for her, as I know that Jennifer is doing for you! And lots of prayer! Praying you will feel very well very soon.
    Muchlove
    Lynn
    PS I am heeding your advice about those mundane motions…….same ole, same ole. We need to live on fire for Jesus!

    • Thank you Lynn! This means so much to me, knowing that I’ve touched others! 🙂 I actually had 2 permanent teeth and 3 baby teeth taken out, but I will have to get my wisdom teeth out when I’m about 17. ❤

      Lydia

  2. You are so adorable. At sixth grade and to write so well with such character and realness. I am praying for God to touch you in a mighty way and not only heal you quickly but to empower you to do all that you are ‘supposed to do’. Including writing. You are amazing.

  3. Praying for a quick recovery so that you can go about all of the fun things you like to do………..God is good! Remember he’s Got It!

  4. Lydia – you continue to encourage me with your passionate heart for the Lord and your determination to count each day as extraordinary! I loved that you and your sister gave your testimony in the mission tent – so proud of you! Surgeries are no fun … but you faced it like a soldier and your amazing ability to put the pain on the back burner and blog today is evidence of the good news that God heals! I can see the smile on your beautiful face right now! And, Our Papa must just have a really hard time getting that smile off his face when he sees you in action! Love you Lydia – you are a sweet and faithful sister in the Lord.
    Hugs to you,
    Kelly

  5. Lydia, you are wise beyond your years! You’re probably going to get tired of hearing that! =) Thank you for reminding me not to let my day be consumed with the ordinary, but to look for ways to pour God’s extraordinary-ness into the ordinary things my day requires of me. I am praying for a quick recovery for you!! You are a very strong and brave girl!! I’m an Iowa-girl like you and your mom, and I think you exemplify all the qualities Iowans would be proud to claim as their own!! God bless you, Sweetie!!

    P.S. You, as a sixth grader, are already a better, more disciplined, and more effective writer than most of my University classmates! As an aspiring English teacher, I am thrilled by that!!

  6. I am sorry about your pain. How amazing to be able to think and write for all of us when you are hurting. Just another of example of how special you are. Love to you! Hugs for Aunt Lynda

  7. You inspire me with your writing, Lydia. You remind me to really LOVE people as I go about my ordinary day. Makes the day special and out of the ordinary. Right? Praying for you and loving you. Grandma

  8. God only gives us what He knows we can handle…obviously he thought you were a tough farm girl that could handle the pain from all those extractions!! You are such an inspiration, spreading your love for the Lord through your blog! Keep up the great work!! Prayers lifted up for your healing! 🙂

  9. What a beautiful writer you are! Your mom was one of my very talented students in middle school too, and it looks like you are a gifted writer..just as she was, and still is today! Keep sharing your thoughts…you have a wonderful gift and so very insightful for such a young lady! Nancy Kunickis

  10. My goodness you’ve had quite a time with your teeth. Did you get to keep the teeth? As I read your blog I can hear your voice. So glad this year is off to a good start for you. I have been noticing extraordinary little things like a leaf waltzing in the breeze or the colors of the morning sky. If you haven’t discovered the book Millicent Min or Marcelo and the Real World, they would be worth a look.

    • Thanks, Miss Yettee! Yes, I did get to keep the teeth. So glad you are reading my blog!

      Thanks for the book suggestions. You always know the good books to read. 🙂 We miss you at West Lyon! I hope you are doing well outside of school! 🙂

Leave a Reply

