Eyes on the Prize

I can’t sleep. I toss and turn in my unbelievably comfortable, queen-size bed. I roll off my bed and walk up my nice, carpeted floors to the kitchen. I grab a glass out of my cupboard, fill it with water, and sit down at the table. My mind is wandering as I go back downstairs and eventually fall asleep.

This is what most of my nights are like. Because lately, there have been some things on my heart that are troubling me. They are things that are difficult to explain, but I’m going to try:

1.) The hurt of this world.

Sometimes I feel as if I’m only seeing the hurt of this world, instead of the joyful and amazing things going on, too. The thing about this world is: we never know how long we will be on it. That’s why we need to make each day count. Bad things happen, and nobody knows why. But trust God that there is a reason. This verse from Romans 5 has always comforted me about the hurt of this world:

Not only that, but we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.    

2.) Our numerous blessings.

When I was in Haiti, I saw the poorest of the poor. They live in tin huts the size of my bed. Sometimes they get so hungry, they resort to eating dirt. They sleep on the muddy, worm-infested ground at night. I live in a nice, large house with running water and a fully-stocked pantry. Whatever I want is right at my fingertips. But spiritually, people like the Haitians are rich beyond their wildest dreams. They live each day completely and wholly for God. From that outlook, I’m the one living in a tin hut eating mud pies.

3.) Distractions.

iPads. Playstations. Flatscreen TVs. Wherever we look, we are bombarded with more and more distractions from God. We all know the story of Peter walking on the water towards Jesus. He jumps out of the boat and continues to walk, keeping his eyes on Jesus. But sometimes he looks down and gets distracted. He loses Jesus and starts to drown. It’s the same with us and our life. We need to keep looking up and finding God everyday, living Out of the Ordinary.

2 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize

  1. Lydia – You have a sweet heart and some wisdom that is beyond your years. Praying for you to keep your eye on the prize and find comfort in knowing that God knows the things in this world that are your heart, they are on his heart too, and he’s got this thing! You are already living an extraordinary life!
    Hugs,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

