Pruning

 “I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes so that it will be even more fruitful. You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned. If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.”

These words are from John 15: 1-8. Most of you reading are probably familiar with this parable that Jesus told. He explains how He is the Vine, God is the Gardener, and we are the branches.

The Gardener cares for us, the branches. When we remain in Jesus, the Vine, we bear fruit and we thrive. Those who do not remain in Jesus are tossed into the eternal fire.

The Gardener prunes off all the extra things that may keep the fruitful branches from being with him.

Maybe God, the Gardener, has encouraged you to do some pruning in your life. You may have a bad habit that needs to be cut off, or maybe you are in an unhealthy relationship that needs to be pruned away.

Sometimes we don’t want to be pruned. We like things the way they are. But God knows best. If part of God’s marvelous and intricate plan for you was to clip off a job or activity, don’t worry. The Gardener wants you to be even more fruitful, so the pruning was for the better.

We need to trust in the Gardener, because He has Out of the Ordinary, unique, and beautiful plans for YOU. Let’s all try to trust in God this week, and listen more carefully to what He may want us to prune so we can live a life closer to Him and His Word.

vine-and-branches

8 thoughts on “Pruning

  1. Nicely written, sweet Lydia! I was just told this week that I need to say “no” more often to those requests that I know I can do but that I need to allow someone else the opportunity……..a perfect example of needed pruning!

    I hope you are ALL doing well! Love, Deb

  2. Beautiful words here, Lydia. I’m taking this with me today, “Sometimes we don’t want to be pruned. We like things the way they are. But God knows best.” He does know best and it’s always in my best interest to let Him do His work in me, so He can do His work through me. Thank you for speaking such beautiful truth today.

  3. Wowie, beautiful post! This is one of the only devotions that I took seriously to examine myself. Very well done.
    I always get annoyed when people say they watch secular media. I think that is something they need to prune out. Seriously, secular media is not good for us.

    We need to trust in the Gardener, because He has Out of the Ordinary, unique, and beautiful plans for YOU.

    I love that line! I also love

    Sometimes we don’t want to be pruned. We like things the way they are. But God knows best. If part of God’s marvelous and intricate plan for you was to clip off a job or activity, don’t worry. The Gardener wants you to be even more fruitful, so the pruning was for the better.

    So true.
    God bless you!

Leave a Reply

