God is Good.

God is good.

God is good through the tough times, and the easy times. The good days, and the bad days.

God is good through all of the suffering caused by ISIS. God is good through the deaths of thousands of poverty-stricken children each day. God is good through cancer, and shootings, and bullying, and all of the pain of this world.

I have to remind myself this every day: God is good.

I wonder why there is pain and death in this world. I don’t know.

But what I do know is this: I can trust in God. I can trust that God is good.Β God is good despite all of the hardships we endure. God is good despite all of the pain we feel.

He is my shoulder to lean on. He walks with me through life. And when I fall down and can’t stand back up, He carries me.

Why do I trust God? Because I’ve seen Him at work in the world. I’ve seen Him change lives and perform miracles. I know that even though I can’t see him, He is always with me.

Isaiah 55:8 says it perfectly.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the Lord. “And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.”

While I wonder and doubt, God already knows everything will work out in His way. I imagine Him up in Heaven, with a big “master plan” spread out on a table. He knows what He’s doing.

I don’t need to worry, because I know: God is good.

God is Good.

8 thoughts on “God is Good.

  1. For some reason, honey, I’m no longer receiving your blog, and noticed your quotation on your mama’s page. This is such a reassuring post, Lydia, in such difficult times. We need to be reminded, to know beyond a shadow of a doubt that God is indeed good and that He causes all things to work together for good in our lives. Otherwise, we can lose hope. I recall once (and this was maybe twenty years or so ago, so I was a grown woman), telling a pastor that it was hard to know sometimes why God created us, knowing we would suffer in this life. It was so hard to grasp. He didn’t have all the answers, but He had the only one that mattered. He told me, “Lynn, you can’t get past the Cross. Yes, we do suffer, but Jesus did, too, in ways we can’t possibly imagine. He suffered when He didn’t have to, and because He loved us so much. No matter how much we question the evil in the world, or all the suffering, we can’t get past the Cross.” A good God died for us. It’s the one truth we can never escape, and one to which we must cling when all the suffering and evil makes no sense to us. You are delving into some deep theology here at Be the Change, and I am glad for it.
    May our good God bless you a thousandfold, Lydia. Keep sharing truth!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Wow, Lynn. You are so, so right. Your words are true, and they’ve touched my heart today. Jesus suffered too, just as we did.

      I’m not sure why you are not receiving my blog posts. I believe that it has to do with your subscribing settings. If you can look under my social media icons in the sidebar, it will say “You are following this blog (manage).” Click on manage and change the settings so you can receive email notifications. (If you would like them.) I hope this helps. πŸ™‚

      Blessings to you Lynn. I hope you have a great day!

  2. AGRRG! ISIS! BAHUMBUG! They make me quite upset at times.
    Yeah, there is so much suffering at times. Like the Haiti earthquake. And that can make us really wonder.
    I believe that all this evil comes from the fact that we are fallen man. We brought this earth into destruction. Adam and Eve took the fruit and thus brought sin into the world. We live in a fallen world. Thus we have earthquakes and such. We are a fallen people. Thus we have ISIS and such.
    But, if we can get closer to God, maybe we can help mellow this stuff out! πŸ˜€
    God bless! And God IS good!

  3. Amen, Lydia! Love this! Reading your blog brings back so many memories for me. When I was twelve, about to turn thirteen — that’s when I first really fell in love with Jesus. I’d always known Him and loved Him, it seemed. But it wasn’t until I was your age that my faith really became my own. I started getting up really early every morning to read my Bible and journal and pray. I made myself big cups of coffee with lots of sugar and cream — which is why I still drink it that way today πŸ™‚ Every day I told God that I was available to Him — I wanted Him to use me in some way to touch hearts and lives and make a difference in this world, for His Kingdom and His glory. I had no idea what an adventure it would turn out to be. Reading your words, I feel such a sense of excitement about the plans He has for you… the journey you are still only beginning! I’m praying for you today that He will bless you and keep you, strengthen you and shield you, empower you and raise you up to be a mighty woman of valor in His eternal Kingdom.

    • Christin, your love and passion for Jesus from such a young age is so inspiring! I definitely can relate to your love of coffee, too!

      Your kinds words make me smile! It is such a powerful thing, to tell God that you are available to Him. I want God to use me to touch others and make a difference, too.

      I can’t express how much your prayers mean to me. I’ve heard a lot of great things about you, Christin, and it’s so nice to finally “meet” you! God’s blessings to you!

Leave a Reply

